Mind. Body. Soul.

527053412

Life is a constant journey. We are always trying to figure life out. The reality of it is that, I don’t think we will ever have all the answers. Is life complicated or do we make it complicated? Is it really hard to be happy in this world?  Life is a journey that can sometimes get the best of you, motivation and inspirational quotes can only go but so far.  It all comes down to us putting the work in.

When I first got sober I knew my life had to change. I knew friends had to go and habits had to change. If nothing changed, my life was not going to change. I had a choice to make. Am I going to give up or am I going to take up this challenge to better myself. I have a choice to make, every single day. You will never get to a point where life is a breeze and you never have choices to make. Every day you make tons of decisions. Every day I choose sobriety. Every day I choose to not go back to my old life. Every day I choose to not go back to an ex boy toy. Every day I choose LIFE over death.

My soul was wrecked. We all have a soul. Our soul craves love. Our soul craves so much more than what earthly things can give us. I was empty inside. I thought getting into relationships would fix that. I thought sex would fix that. I thought getting drunk would fix that. I thought going on vacations would fix that. IT DOES NOT FIX IT. I kept looking for things to feel whole and nothing worked. Our souls are meant to be filled with the one that knows us, the one that created us, God. I have never been this peaceful. I still struggle with being overweight but I know that step is coming. I get lonely. I don’t feel loved at times. But, I am at peace. I am at peace because I know God has a plan for me. I know that this is temporary. I know that God is still working in me. I know that he is preparing me for the next season in my life. When your mind is a wreck you will never be at peace. God has shown me that we are spiritual beings. When you don’t have a spiritual life, something will always be missing.

My mind has been transforming since I started on my spiritual journey. I used to be very ignorant. I had so much hate and anger in my heart. I thought this was it. This is life, you just deal with it. That’s  a lie. You don’t have to live like that. You don’t have to live depressed, sad, or angry. You have a choice. You have a choice to retrain your mind. You have a choice to forgive. You have a choice to choose peace and freedom, all you have to do is reach for it. You cannot have a new life without a new mindset. You cannot have better relationships without a new mindset. The way you think has a lot to do with the choices you make and what you choose to deal with in your every day life. (Romans 12:2)

Every day I have to work on my mind and soul. How do I do that? I pray, every day. I spend time with God every day. I listen to worship music.  The music in this world has a lot of negativity in it. Most of it has to do with sex, lust, drugs, alcohol, and, money. Whatever you feed will grow, remember that. Listen to positive music, watch positive shows, listen to sermons, read devotions/Bible. Stay away from anything that alters your mood in a negative way. That’s the simplest way to put it.

A healthy soul leads to a healthy mind. A healthy mind leads to a healthy body. Your body is what you have to walk around with every single day. I was looking at myself in the mirror today and I didn’t like what I see. I know I’m beautiful and I’m made in God’s image but realistically I need to be in shape. I need to be healthy. I need to take better care of myself.  For the past 5 months I have been working on my soul and mind. I have been healing, forgiving, and letting go. This is a process. Every day is a process.  I will continue to work on the mind and soul along with sculpting my body. Our bodies are important. I can’t encourage others and make a real impact on others if I am not physically capable to.  It’s something that weighs heavy on my heart. I have to live out what I preach. The transformation of my life is very important to me. It is giving me a new life. With a new life, I can pour into others. Always remember, you cannot pour on to others what you do not have in your own cup.

I pray for you all. We are all in this journey together, I pray we all find our way, one day at a time. Remember, God loves you. You are made in his image and he causes everything to work together for our good. Keep pushing. Keep striving, and, as hard as it may get, NEVER EVER GIVE UP.

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Mind. Body. Soul.

Leave a Reply

